World No. 2 Carlos Alcaraz, who felt hurried after his loss to British player Jack Draper at the Queen’s Club Championships, promised to address the ATP on a “new” shot time rule being tested by the organization.

Recently, Alcaraz’s record of 7-6(3) 6-3 loss to Draper in the round of 16 dealt a blow to his plans for defending his Wimbledon championship.

The new regulation 

After the rule was modified in the trial, the countdown to a serve started nearly instantly after a point was finished. Previously, the 25-second shot clock would only start when the chair umpire called the score.

Since the French Open ended, a new rule that aims to ensure uniform time management and streamline game flow has been on trial. The rule will be in place in ATP tournaments until the end of the current season.

Alcaraz claimed that he had communicated his concerns to chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani during the match because he was rushed for time to complete his usual process.

The athlete said: “He told me that there is a new rule, this new thing, that the clock never stops. After the point is finished, the clock is putting on…I think for the players it’s something bad. I finish the point at the net and I had no time to ask for balls. I’m not saying to go to a towel and take my time. I feel like I can’t ask for the balls.”

He added: “It’s crazy. I have time just to ask for two balls and no bounces. I’ve never seen something like that in tennis… Today I felt like I was in a rush all the time. I had no time to bounce and do my routine.”

See also  Climate change protesters disrupt Italian Open matches

According to the ATP source, if there are any disturbances beyond the control of the players or the tournament, umpires will still be able to stop the shot clocks. When asked if Alcaraz had discussed his concerns with the governing body, he declared: “Not yet, but I will, for sure.” 

 

Source: CNA

Related Posts