23.4 C
Friday, June 2, 2023
- Advertisement -

For its tour to Australia, Hockey India picks a 23-member Indian team

The 23-person Indian Men’s Hockey Team was announced by Hockey India on Tuesday in preparation for the forthcoming Tour of Australia, which will get underway on November 26 in Adelaide.

As they get ready for the forthcoming FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar-Rourkela 2023, which will start on January 13, the Indian squad will compete against Australia in five games.

Harmanpreet Singh, an accomplished drag-flicker, has been selected as the team’s captain, and Amit Rohidas has been chosen as vice-captain, according to a statement released by Hockey India.

Graham Reid India
Image of Graham Reid and his team. From Twitter.

Graham Reid, the head coach of the Indian team, commented on the group, saying, “The upcoming tour to Australia is a terrific opportunity for us to test ourselves against one of the top contenders at the forthcoming FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar-Rourkela 2023.

- Advertisement -

We feel that our excellent line-up of seasoned players will enable us to achieve the desired outcomes. In order to expose them to top-tier competition and test our squad’s depth, we have also mixed a variety of young players into the team.

Between November 26 and December 4 at the MATE Stadium in Adelaide, the Indians, who are presently ranked fifth in the world, will play five matches against the Australians, who are currently ranked first. On November 27, November 30, and December 3, the second, third, and fourth matches will be held.

Team hockey India’s men:

  1. Forwards – Sukhjeet Singh,  Mandeep Singh, Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh
  2. Goalkeeper – Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran and Krishan Bahadur Pathak
  3. Defender –  Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor,  Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Varun Kumar, Jarmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh (C), Amit Rohidas (V/C).
  4. Midfielders – Raheel Mouseen, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Sumit , Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, Mohd.

Here are more hockey related stories.


Related Posts

- Advertisement -