Image of the Premier League's logo.

Since most of the Premier League clubs are losing their best players for at least a month for the World Cup, they would obviously need to be compensated. The topic on whether the compensation is enough or not is for another time as the clubs spent a lot of money to obtain their players. 

FIFA has a payment scheme when their respective countries are leasing back their players. It is called the Club Benefits Programme, which would pay the Premier League clubs about £8,100 for every day one of their players is in the tournament. 

The time taken for the preparation of the Premier League players to warm up before the World Cup would also be compensated to the clubs. Julian Alvarez, an Argentine forward, is responsible for the majority of that, having reached the final, where each club receives around £297,000 for each player involved. 

There will be prize money involved with the Premier League players if they win for their own country. The prize money decreases as a player progresses through the competition, roughly working out to £257,000 for the semi-finals, £225,000 for the quarter-finals, £177,000 for the last-16, and £144,000 for the group stage.

How much exactly will each of the Premier League clubs make? 

Manchester City 

Manchester City
Manchester City’s logo

Manchester City is set to be the one to profit the most out of the World Cup as their earnings and the number of players sent are the most when compared to the other teams on this list. 

They are set to earn a total of £4.5 million with their list of 16 players. Here are the names and countries of origin of the players: 

See also  Paul Merson's predictions for the Premier League's GW15 fixtures, including Manchester United vs. Chelsea

John Stones, Kyle Walker, Kalvin Phillips, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish (England)
Joao Cancelo, Ruben Dias and Bernardo Silva (Portugal)
Aymeric Laporte and Rodri (Spain)
Manuel Akanji (Switzerland)
Ederson (Brazil)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium)
Ilkay Gundogan (Germany)
Nathan Ake (Netherlands)
Julian Alvarez (Argentina)

Manchester United 

Manchester United logo
Manchester United’s logo

Manchester United is set to earn about £2.92 million and is ranked the second highest among all the English Premier League on this list. Earlier during the World Cup, they have made strong wins and may continue to do so for those that are still in the semi finals.

Here is the list of Manchester United players that have participated in the 2022 World Cup. Ronaldo at the start of the World Cup was still with Manchester United, however he has since left the club.  

Diogo Dalot, Bruno Fernandes and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Luke Shaw, Harry Maguire and Marcus Rashford (England)
Anthony, Casemiro and Fred (Brazil)
Christian Eriksen (Denmark)
Raphael Varane (France)
Facundo Pellistri (Uruguay)
Tyrell Malacia (Netherlands)
Lisandro Martinez (Argentina)


Chelsea logo
Chelsea’s logo

The Premier League club Chelsea will be set to earn about £2.47 million for their 12 players. It also depends on who will win the World Cup. 

According to a football website, said players are:
Mason Mount, Conor Gallagher and Raheem Sterling (England)
Edouard Mendy and Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal)
Mateo Kovacic (Croatia)
Thiago Silva (Brazil)
Denis Zakaria (Switzerland)
Christian Pulisic (USA)
Hakim Ziyech (Morocco)
Kai Havertz (Germany)
Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain)


Tottenham Logo
Tottenham’s Logo

Tottenham is calculated to earn about  £2.33 million as they have 11 players in the World Cup as we speak. 

See also  Two former Man Utd Legends Fight Over Ronaldo

The players involved in the World Cup are: 

Hugo Lloris (France)
Eric Dier and Harry Kane (England)
Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Denmark)
Ivan Perisic (Croatia)
Richarlison (Brazil)
Ben Davies (Wales)
Hugo Lloris (France)
Rodrigo Bentancur (Uruguay)
Pape Sarr (Senegal)
Cristian Romero (Argentina)
Son Heung-Min (South Korea)


Arsenal logo
Arsenal’s logo

Arsenal is set to earn about £2.11 million as compensation for their 10 players that went to the World Cup. 

The 10 players involved are: 

Aaron Ramsdale, Ben White and Bukayo Saka (England)
Gabriel Jesus and Gabriel Martinelli (Brazil)
William Saliba (France)
Granit Xhaka (Switzerland)
Thomas Partey (Ghana)
Takehiro Tomiyasu (Japan)
Matt Turner (USA)


Liverpool Logo
Liverpool’s Logo

Liverpool will earn about £1.55m from their seven players that went to the Middle East. They are the lowest earning out of the “top 6” Premier League clubs this time around. 

They only have seven players participating and list of their players are: 

Alisson and Fabinho (Brazil)
Trent Alexander-Arnold and Jordan Henderson (England)
Ibrahima Konate (France)
Darwin Nunez (Uruguay)
Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands)

Here are more stories related to the FIFA World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.