T20 World Cup

Australia’s selectors have decided not to add player Steve Smith and have turned down requests to include the young batsman Jake Frase-McGurk, despite his exceptional playing form in the Indian Premier League (IPL),  in the T20 World Cup team. 

Smith played T20s against New Zealand in February and was a member of Australia’s winning team at the 2021 tournament in the United Arab Emirates, but he was unable to pursue his claims further after missing out on an IPL agreement.

The senior player who has scored over 16,000 runs in international cricket, is among Australia’s best all-around players, so it will be disappointing that he hadn’t been selected. 

T20 World Cup Misses

According to the selectors chief George Bailey, Smith had no place in a decided starting lineup that included David Warner, Travis Head, and captain-elect Mitchell Marsh. 

Bailey stated: “It’s probably for Steve to answer what his goals or challenges are going forward and what he wants to achieve in the game…I know he still loves playing T20 cricket.” 

Moreover, despite having no T20 international experience, 22-year-old Fraser-McGurk had made a compelling case for the team by accumulating 247 runs at an incredible strike rate of 237.50 in five games for the Delhi Capitals.

Bailey declared that the youngster was one of the participants involved in “long conversations” regarding the June 1–29 showcase in the US and the Caribbean. 

After the selectors deliberation, the final Australian squad will be include David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, and Nathan Ellis.

See also  The notorious ICC blunder is back: India lost the T20 World Cup as a result of five mistakes

Cover Photo: IG

Source: CNA 

Read More News

Olympic refugee Anjelina Nadai Lohalith suspended after failing doping test

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *