During the high-scoring match between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League, which the former won by 15 runs, Michael Neser made a stunning catch.
During the high-scoring match between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League, which the former won by 15 runs, Michael Neser made a stunning catch. After Jordan Silk was out for 41 off 23 pitches in the penultimate over of the Sixers’ enormous 225-run chase, Neser’s game-changing effort came.
Silk dominated in the middle and had already hammered three 4s and two 6s. If the catch had been missed, there would have been another maximum, but Neser’s astute decision-making ended Silk’s brilliant performance in the middle.
Neser’s spectacular catch
Neser, standing in the middle of the field, caught the ball well within the boundary rope, but when he realized he would be crossing the field of play, he threw it up. However, Neser’s release caused the ball to cross the barrier a little too far, but he didn’t stop there.
After going over the fence, Neser looped the ball in the air once more, making sure that none of his body parts touched the ground, and then calmly finished the catch inside the playing area.
Although he fielded a fantastic catch, his efforts were questioned by both fans and experts, prompting some to study the regulations. One of the many people who were perplexed and questioned why it was sent was Australian cricket veteran Adam Gilchrist, who is a member of the Fox Cricket commentary team. Later, he acknowledged that the dismissal was lawful and within the bounds of the rules.
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) established Law 19.5.2, which reads in part: “A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, prior to his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary.”
Here are more stories related to cricket.