Deepti Sharma, the bowler, ran out Charlie Dean at the non-end striker’s as she started her delivery stride on Saturday as England tried to pull off an unusual victory in the women’s one-day international at Lord’s.
Heather Knight, the captain of England’s cricket team, has accused India of “lying” about accusations that Charlie Dean received several warnings before to her contentious “Mankad” dismissal over the weekend.
Deepti Sharma, the bowler, ran out Dean at the non-end striker’s as she started her delivery stride on Saturday as England tried to pull off an unusual victory in the women’s one-day international at Lord’s.
India won by a margin of 16 runs and swept the series 3-0 after the third umpire supported the “Mankad” dismissal.
The way India won was booed by the audience, which is not against the rules but is viewed by some as not being in the spirit of the game. Dean had tossed her bat to the ground in tears as this happened.
When her team arrived in Kolkata, Sharma told the media that Dean, who was at the time batting possibly game-winning innings of 47, had been “repeatedly” warned about advancing up the pitch.
“We followed the regulations and instructions,”
Sharma was addressed by Knight on Twitter while he was out with a hip ailment.
She wrote on Twitter: “The game is over, Charlie was fired fairly. India deservedly won both the game and the series. However, no alerts were provided. They are unnecessary, thus it hasn’t diminished the legitimacy of the dismissal in the slightest.
“However, India shouldn’t feel the need to defend it by lying about warnings if they are comfortable with the decision to effect the runout.”
The ECB declined to comment when Sky Sports News contacted it about Knight’s tweets.
Dean left her crease early a total of 72 times, according to ESPNcricinfo analyst Peter Della Penna, who examined the whole innings after the game.
Charles Dagnall, a cricket analyst for Sky Sports, stated: “No laws were broken, definitely not; Deepti is fully within her rights to not warn Charlie Dean and run her out at the non-end striker and that is a completely legitimate dismissal. Nothing was improperly done.
It is undoubtedly an unusual thing. In the professional era, I can recall four “Mankad” instances.