Home Run Derby

The Home Run Derby is one of the run-hitting competitions in Major League Baseball (MLB) the game usually consists of hitting a baseball in the fair territory out of the playing field and intentionally all the pitches are thrown slowly and at closer range. There are many teams and players that participate in the game and make sure to give their best and win the title every season.

The league is customarily held before the MLB All-Star Game, it seems like this season is going to be very interesting and exciting to watch the game has been started in the year 1985, Below you can check out the complete winner list details of the Home Ru Derby and everything that you need to know.

Home Run Derby; Winners from 1985 to 2022

Year Winner Team League Stadium (host team)
1985 Dave Parker Cincinnati Reds NL Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (MIN)
1986 Wally Joyner California Angels AL Astrodome (HOU)
Darryl Strawberry New York Mets NL    
1987 Andre Dawson Chicago Cubs NL Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum (OAK)
1988 Cancelled      
1989 Eric Davis Cincinnati Reds NL Anaheim Stadium (CAL)
Rubén Sierra Texas Rangers AL    
1990 Ryne Sandberg Chicago Cubs NL Wrigley Field (CHC)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore Orioles AL SkyDome (TOR)
1992 Mark McGwire Oakland Athletics AL Jack Murphy Stadium (SD)
1993 Juan González Texas Rangers AL Oriole Park at Camden Yards (BAL)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. (1) Seattle Mariners AL Three Rivers Stadium (PIT)
1995 Frank Thomas Chicago White Sox AL The Ballpark in Arlington (TEX)
1996 Barry Bonds San Francisco Giants NL Veterans Stadium (PHI)
1997 Tino Martinez New York Yankees AL Jacobs Field (CLE)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. (2) Seattle Mariners AL Coors Field (COL)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. (3) Seattle Mariners AL Fenway Park (BOS)
2000 Sammy Sosa Chicago Cubs NL Turner Field (ATL)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Arizona Diamondbacks NL Safeco Field (SEA)
2002 Jason Giambi New York Yankees AL Miller Park (MIL)
2003 Garret Anderson Anaheim Angels AL U.S. Cellular Field (CHW)
2004 Miguel Tejada Baltimore Orioles AL Minute Maid Park (HOU)
2005 Bobby Abreu Philadelphia Phillies NL Comerica Park (DET)
2006 Ryan Howard Philadelphia Phillies NL PNC Park (PIT)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim AL AT&T Park (SF)
2008 Justin Morneau Minnesota Twins AL Yankee Stadium (NYY)
2009 Prince Fielder (1) Milwaukee Brewers NL Busch Stadium (STL)
2010 David Ortiz Boston Red Sox AL Angel Stadium (LAA)
2011 Robinson Canó New York Yankees AL Chase Field (ARI)
2012 Prince Fielder (2) Detroit Tigers AL Kauffman Stadium (KC)
2013 Yoenis Céspedes (1) Oakland Athletics AL Citi Field (NYM)
2014 Yoenis Céspedes (2) Oakland Athletics AL Target Field (MIN)
2015 Todd Frazier Cincinnati Reds NL Great American Ball Park (CIN)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Miami Marlins NL Petco Park (SD)
2017 Aaron Judge New York Yankees AL Marlins Park (MIA)
2018 Bryce Harper Washington Nationals NL Nationals Park (WAS)
2019 Pete Alonso (1) New York Mets NL Progressive Field (CLE)
2020 Canceled      
2021 Pete Alonso (2) New York Mets NL Coors Field (COL)
2022 Juan Soto Washington Nationals NL Dodger Stadium (LAD)

Successful Teams

Rank Team Wins Years
1 New York Yankees 4 1997, 2002, 2011, 2017
2 Los Angeles Angels 3 1986, 2003, 2007
Oakland Athletics 3 1992, 2013, 2014
Chicago Cubs 3 1987, 1990, 2000
Seattle Mariners 3 1994, 1998, 1999
Cincinnati Reds 3 1985, 1989, 2015
New York Mets 3 1986, 2019, 2021
8 Baltimore Orioles 2 1991, 2004
Philadelphia Phillies 2 2005, 2006
Texas Rangers 2 1989, 1993
Washington Nationals 2 2018, 2022
12 Chicago White Sox 1 1995
San Francisco Giants 1 1996
Arizona Diamondbacks 1 2001
Minnesota Twins 1 2008
Milwaukee Brewers 1 2009
Boston Red Sox 1 2010
Detroit Tigers 1 2012
Miami Marlins 1 2016
See also  Where can I find the range of baseball cleats by Nike Air Jordan 1 Retro MCS? explored along with price

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.