Top 10 Greatest Australian Tennis Players Of All Time

10. Lleyton Hewitt

Lleyton Hewitt

Lleyton Hewitt was known for his five-set duels and come-from-behind victories. Hewitt became the ATP Tour's youngest World No. 1 in 1997. Hewitt was the last Australian to win a Grand Slam. Rusty!' was chanted. Rusty! Hewitt's performance reverberated across the country.

09. Neale Fraser

Neale Fraser 

Neale Fraser had a powerful forehand and left-handed serve. Wimbledon and US Open champion who missed Australian Open. He had match point against Rod Laver in 1960, but lost 8-6 in the fifth set.  Fraser won singles, doubles, and mixed at the US Open in 1959 and 1960. He was 18-3 in Davis Cup. He was captain for 24 years. Fraser won in 1973, 1977, 1983, and 1986.

08. Norman Brookes

Norman Brookes

Sir Norman Brookes won Wimbledon's inaugural international title in 1907. Solid groundstrokes and excellent serving variation catapulted Brookes to greatness.  Brookes won the Australian Open in 1911 and Wimbledon in 1913. He hadn't been to London since his SW19 win seven years ago. He won the Australian Open doubles title at 47 in 1924.

07. Ashley Cooper

Ashley Cooper

Ashley Cooper's game exemplified baseline attack and net abilities. In 1958, he won all the Grand Slams except the French Open, becoming only the sixth player to do it. In 1957 and 1958, Cooper won the Australian Open and was on Australia's Davis Cup team. In 1957, Australia beat the US 3-2; in 1958, the US won 3-2.

06. Frank Sedgman

Frank Sedgman

In five years, Frank Sedgman won 22 Grand Slams. Sedgman won 16 of 24 Grand Slams in 1951 and 1952, including the 1951 Calendar Year doubles Grand Slam. Sedgman was swift and athletic. His net play was outstanding. Sedgman was Australia's first Wimbledon champion after World War II, ushering in its golden era.

05. Evonne Goolagong Cawley

Evonne Goolagong Cawley

Evonne Goolagong Cawley won four Australian Open singles titles between 1974 and 1977, although not consecutively. "Gong" retired in the mid-1980s with 13 major titles, including seven Grand Slam singles titles from 18 finals. Charm, ethereal touch, and fast speed made her a great player.

04. Ken Rosewal

Ken Rosewal

Before 1968, several professional players played in Pro-Tour or Pro-Slam competitions to earn prize money, while the Grand Slams banned them. Ken Rosewall won 15 Pro-Slam titles. His 23 Grand Slams and Pro-Slams lead all players. Rosewall won 8 singles and 9 doubles Grand Slams.

03. Roy Emerson

Roy Emerson 

1960s tennis stars Roy Emerson and Rod Laver. Emerson is the only player to win all 4 Grand Slam titles. Big-serving Aussie has 6 Australian titles, tied with Djokovic and Federer. Emerson won 10 consecutive Grand Slams. In 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, he won 6 Australian Opens, 2 French Opens, 2 Wimbledons, and 2 US Opens (1961,1964).

02. Rod Laver

Rod Laver

Rod Laver is another 'GOAT' legend. The only player with his own stadium and tournament. Laver won the Calendar year Slam in 1962 and 1969, an unbreakable record. Laver won 3 Australian Opens (1960, 1962, 1969), 2 French Opens (1962, 1969), 4 Wimbledons (1961, 1962, 1968, 1969), and 2 US Opens (1962,1969).

01. Margaret Court

Margaret Court

Margaret is the first Open Era player to win all four Grand Slams. She won the Mixed Doubles Calendar Slam twice, in 1963 and 1965. Her 24 Grand Slam Singles, 19 Women's Doubles, and 21 Mixed Doubles titles are unmatched. Her 24-Grand Slam Singles championships record holds.