16.7 C
Thursday, August 11, 2022
- Advertisement -

Ballon D’or award winners list; From 1956 to 2022

Ballon D’or award winners

Ballon D’or which means Golden Ball is the annual football award that is presented by the French news magazine ‘France Football’ the first award was given in the year 1956, and there are many teams that participate in the game.

Some teams have strong players with them that give their best and won the title before the year 1956 the award was referred to as ‘European Football of the Year’ in recent years there have been many changes in the game rules and has been updated more and the rules will keep on adding and changing in upcoming years also to make the game more interesting and exciting. In 2020 there was no game schedule due to COVID-19 was the situation was not very good.

In 2018, the first women’s award was presented which was known as  Ballon d’Or Féminin there are many women’s teams that want to play for this title. But here we have to know the complete details about the award winner from the year 1956 to the recent year 2022, so make sure you stay tuned with us to get the latest update and all related information.

year player Nationality club
2021 Lionel Messi Argentina Paris Saint-Germain F.C.
2020 not awarded
2019 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United
2007 Kaká  Brazil Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukraine Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czechia Juventus
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus
1997 Ronaldo Brazil Internazionale
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah Liberia Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Internazionale
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax
1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool

Who has won the most?

- Advertisement -

Ballon D’or award is mostly won by Lionel Messi he has a record of winning the title7 times and after him, we have Cristiano Ronaldo who has won 5 times. There are also some other players that have won the award three times each.

Women’s Ballon D’or (Ballon d’Or Féminin) award List

Year Player Nationality Club
2021 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2020  Not awarded –   –
2019 Megan Rapinoe USA Reign FC
2018 Ada Hegerberg Norway Olympique Lyonnais

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -