1.3 C
Wednesday, December 7, 2022
- Advertisement -

South Africa win toss, bat against Bangladesh at T20 World Cup


South Africa cricket 

South Africa captain Temba Bavuma won the toss and opted to bat against Bangladesh in their second game at the Twenty20 World Cup on Thursday.

The Proteas need a victory at the Sydney Cricket Ground after their opening match on Monday against Zimbabwe in Hobart was washed out and they split the points.

Possible showers are forecast again.

- Advertisement -

In contrast, Bangladesh opened their campaign with a nine-wicket win over the Netherlands and currently sit atop Group 2 on two points, level with India.

But they have failed to beat South Africa in seven previous T20 meetings.

South Africa made one change with wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi in for fast-bowler Lungi Ngidi. Bangladesh also brought in an extra spinner with Mehidy Hasan replacing Yasir Ali.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (capt), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Shanto, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Mossadek Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud

Umpires: Langton Rusere (ZIM), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV Umpire: Ahsan Raza (PAK)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

More stories related to cricket here.

Related Posts

- Advertisement -